Long Night’s Moon Story

LongNightsMoon2Tonight I took our Corgi, Magik for a walk. It was getting dark and I was enjoying the mist covering the hills. I didn’t see the moon. Magik was busy sniffing every blade of grass when I heard someone coming towards us. Magik is especially protective of me at night so I decided to cross the street. Magik quickened his pace and I followed his lead. We were about to cross the street again to turn home when I saw that the mysterious stranger that had been walking towards us was the man with the aggressive Rottweiler that Magik doesn’t like, so I decided to take a detour home, or more like a long-tour home.

This route passes by an open space area under power lines, I just happened to glance over my shoulder at it when I noticed the moon. It was starting to peek over the horizon. I took out my camera, Magik following my cue and sat on the sidewalk and waited. He can be so patient!

I started taking pictures and to my amazement the moon rose very quickly. I stopped talking photos and savored the moment. When I could see the moon in her fullness, I noticed that it actually looked like it had a face, and of course to me it looked like a very feminine face. I said, “Grandmother Moon, it’s so nice to see you!” She smiled softly. A warm feeling washed over me. “Is there anything you would like to say, or would like me to know tonight?” I asked. Grandmother Moon replied quickly, “Remember me!”

Becky Parker Geist and I are very happy to announce that in celebration of the Long Nights Moon, Grandmother Moon and Other Mother Stories: Book One is now available for sale! Thank you for your support!!!!

It is available for sale at Amazon, Barnes and Noble, Kobo, Apple and most  bookstores.

Copyright © 2014, Vlatka Herzberg, all rights reserved. You may not reproduce materials without permission from Vlatka Herzberg.

Photo art © 2014, Theodore & Vlatka Herzberg

and Natasha Tasiyana Kolida

Leave a Reply

